Takin’ It Easy In La Paz


Once again, I find myself sitting in my favorite restaurant in La Paz, eating lunch and listening to a Spanish serenade. The restaurant is La Boheme, the lunch was a warm goat cheese salad and the serenader is a Mexican voice accompanied by a guitar and pounding bass from a nearby bar. A small, hard, mango-looking object just fell hard onto my table and the breeze is swirly gently through the open courtyard where I’m seated.

I arrived in La Paz early this afternoon after a three hour bus ride from San Carlos on the Pacific side of the Baja peninsula to the small airport just outside of La Paz ‘city’. The vista from my bus window didn’t vary much from the arid, desert landscape studded with cacti and patched-together wooden and homes with tin roofs. Nonetheless, it was nice to see the interior of the narrow peninsula.

At the airport I said goodbye to the guests and a few staff member who were also leaving and packed my bags into a taxi headed for La Paz. Weeks earlier I had made reservations at Casa Tuscany, a bed and breakfast near downtown La Paz. I was looking forward to some relaxation and quiet time after being on a boat for three weeks. Carol, the B&B owner, met me at the gate and welcomed me to her home. There are only four room in the B&B and they are all nicely decorated and furnished in Mexican motif. There is a patio with chairs and a table on the balcony outside my room and a covered sitting area below. I chatted with Carol for a bit, then dropped my bags on the bed and headed out for lunch. Which brings me up to date here.

But I’ll rewind and bring you up to date on my last week on the Sea Bird. As I mentioned before, we had some influential people on board and they took turns giving lectures and inspiring us with their stories. Gil Grosvenor (former President of National Geographic) gave a slideshow presentation and his early assignments with Nat Geo that took him all over the world from Siberia to Africa to the Dalmatian Coast.

Sylvia Earle also gave several talks on her work in ocean research and conservation. Her latest achievement has been to help establish a conservation initiative called Mission Blue. The program came about when TED (Technology, Education, Design), a non-profit organization “devoted to ideas worth spreading”, granted Sylvia one wish, something big that she would like to see happen in the world. Sylvia’s wish was to see as much of the ocean protected as possible. As a result, Mission Blue – fully supported by National Geographic – was created. Check out the website and if you want to see Sylvia Earle’s TED talk, watch it here. It’s quite inspiring!

Oh yeah, I got to touch some more whales this week! I have a video of me patting a baby on its head, but for some reason I can’t upload it on my phone…

Leave a Reply

