Only One Week To Go!


I can’t believe how fast these past three weeks have gone. It feels like I just arrived at Yoga Thailand, but now we’re all studying hard for the final exams. Tomorrow we have our teaching practical where we have to teach an hour-long class to five or six students. Then Monday we have our oral and written exams. I’m not too worried because I feel like we’ve been well prepared and I’ve been studying quite a bit too. It’s amazing how much we have learned, though.

I’ve also gained a much greater appreciation for breath-work – called pranayama. My teacher said something the other day that really made me step back and think. He said, “what if we’re not born with a number of years, but with a number of breaths?” It has been shown that breath-work reduces stress and increases life span. Many of the ancient yogis lived to 90 or even 100. My teacher also brought up the point that a dogs age is compared to a humans by multiplying it by seven. Think about how much panting they do. Whales and elephants, though, take long, deep breaths and they can live as long, or even longer than a human. It’s something interesting to think about. I know my pranayama practice for the past three weeks has definitely helped me in my yoga practice and daily life. My teacher will give us each our own practice depending on what we need, so I’m excited to make that a part of my day too. I need to get back to studying, buy here are a few more photos to enjoy!

Leave a Reply

