Cabbages and Condoms


I had a few hours to kill before I needed to head to the bus station, so I searched the guidebook for a nice place to have lunch. I found a restaurant called Cabbages and Condoms and of course I had to try it out. The restaurant was established by a sex-education/AIDS-prevention organization who’s mission was to make safe sex and contraception as easy and available as buying cabbages in the market. As I walked in I was greeted by mannequins dressed in clothes made out of condoms (one with a cape and C on his chest in a yellow triangle – aka Super Condom) and a Santa Claus made entirely out of them as well. Rubber covered globe lights hung from the ceiling and decorations such as birds and flowers adorned the walls.

The restaurant itself was a little more upscale than I thought it would be. I had anticipated it targeting more of the lower class people, but it definitely catered for the tourists and people with money to spend on a nice meal. It was still great, though. I had tofu and mushrooms in a curry sauce over white rice. My mouth is still burning!

(When walking back out I noticed a cafeteria-style restaurant for the locals, so that was good to see)

One Response

  1. No pictures of the mannequins?
    Another valuable and educational experience in the life of Becky! Did you buy any souvenirs there to bring home? PS- Vermont is rainy,cold and miserable. :>(

Leave a Reply

