Thailand On The Cheap


I think I’m getting the hang of things here. The first few days I was struggling to figure stuff out – constantly looking at maps, taking taxis because I was unsure if where I was, and eating at nice sit-down restaurants rather than buying from the street vendors. But now, although not quite an expert, I feel more comfortable and at ease in the city. I took the sky-train into a different part of the city to explore and I found my way back without any trouble. It’s also a lot cheaper to travel this way. The sky-train costs about a dollar each way and the one hour amazing foot massage later in the afternoon was 7 dollars with a tip. For dinner I hit the streets and bought a plateful of stir-fried noodles for .35 cents, some longan fruit for .27 cents and 4 tempura-sesame balls filled with sweet potato also for .35 cents. That doesn’t even add up to a dollar! Hopefully I won’t regret it later…

Leave a Reply

