Breaching Whale


It’s the end of another week and I’m sitting in the Baranof Hotel lobby in Juneau, poaching internet and slurping an iced coffee. This past trip was great. The New Yorkers were all very friendly and fun (partly due to the 220+ bottles of wine they consumed within the span of seven days) and we had a great week of wildlife, hiking, kayaking, and weather – as far a Alaskan weather can go. I think the highlight of the trip for me was the morning Stephanie, our expedition leader, woke us up at 5:30 to announce a breaching humpback whale off our bow. I threw on some clothes, grabbed the camera that a deckhand lent me, and ran up the two sets of stairs to the bow. It was really windy and chilly, but the whale kept breaching and breaching for over half and hour, and I didn’t want to leave, despite the cold and spray that covered the deck. I got a few good shots, but I was wishing that I had my camera with its longer lens (which I did receive in Petersburg last week, and I’ve been dutifully shooting anything and everything I see). We have another full trip this week, and I’m hoping it goes as smoothly! I managed to fit in 16 massages last week, along with the hiking and kayaking and my yoga practice (which reminds me – I got accepted into the yoga teacher training program in Thailand, starting in November. I’m so excited!). I just hope I can keep it up for another six weeks!

2 Responses

  1. I could not be happier for you ….and your good Karma to lead such a wonderful and fulfilled life. You are one lucky girl!

  2. HAPPY BIRTHDAY !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I can’t wait to have you ride your new bike. Love Dad

Leave a Reply

