A busy week


It has been a very busy couple of days for me, between going on hikes, kayaking, and giving massages – plus spending time on deck watching wildlife and doing my (almost) daily yoga practice. I haven’t had much time to write! Even now I’m using the hour before my next massage to write as much as I can. This week has been really good. The guests are great and we’ve seen lots of whales and bears. The other morning our expedition leader woke us up around 5:30 because there were humpbacks right off our bow. People came out on deck still in their pajamas and were rewarded by the sight of a baby humpback breaching three times. I wrote another DER (daily expedition report) about Saginaw Bay and Red Bluffs – you can read it here. Red Bluffs was really amazing, and I had never been there before, so I didn’t know what to expect. There were waterfalls everywhere. It was so beautiful. We’ll be going there next week too, so I’m crossing my fingers that I’ll have my camera! Dad sent it to Petersburg, but I’m not sure when it will get there.

Last night we stopped in a tiny fishing town called Pelican. When I say tiny, I mean 75 people live there. There are no roads, but instead there’s a boardwalk that runs the length of town and people drive 4-wheelers down it. The town is surrounded by beautiful snowy mountains and we were told by a local that a few years ago Tommy Mosely and his crew came to ski one of the peaks and they stayed in Pelican for a few days. The main attraction in town is Rose’s Bar, which is run by a 77 year-old woman who has had 11 kids and lives in Pelican year-round. The ceiling of the bar is covered in people’s names and apparently if you get up on the bar to sign your name, Rose will try to pull your pants down. I didn’t stay long enough to see if that happened.

I’ve also been doing a lot of massages and treatments. Mostly massages, though. It’s hard to balance everything that I’m supposed to do and want to do, but so far I feel like I’m handling it. I know I’ll be ready to get off in seven weeks though! Everyone who has gotten a massage says it was wonderful, and guests are even signing up twice ($80 per massage + a tip)! I don’t get paid per massage, so it doesn’t really matter to me how many sign up, but it’s great to hear the feedback. I gave Captain a half hour massage this morning and he said it was “divine”. I have two more today, and tomorrow is the last day of the trip, so I hope I can fit everyone in who wants a massage.

I ran out of time yesterday to finish writing, so now it’s the last day of the trip and I just got back from leading a long walk along an old logging road. Again, I only have an hour of free time before lunch, then after lunch I have three more massages. The naturalists have commented on how busy I am with treatments, and they say that good news travels fast – meaning they’ve heard a lot of guests talking about their massages, so I’m happy! Hopefully tomorrow I’ll have some time to relax in Sitka.

I’ve been offered a few more contracts on the ships, which I’m really excited about (although that means I won’t have as much time to play on my new mountain bike!). I’ll be coming back to Alaska two more times after I get off in July, then I have three weeks on the Colombia River as well. You can see all the dates here.

That’s it for now… Next week is a charter for the New York Yacht Club, so I’m sure I’ll have lots of stories to share…

3 Responses

  1. I’m so happy for you. Love Dad

  2. Love reading your blog and about all of your wonderful experiences!

    What a life!
    Love and miss you!

  3. Beautiful description on the daily report, Becks! I’m so glad guests are enjoying your massages. You must be getting quite strong! I can’t wait until its my turn again! Your week sounds quite amazing. How’s the weather up there? Are you getting much sun? Wish I had the larger picture of you balancing on the log. Can you send it to me?
    Love you lots!

Leave a Reply

